Hackathon


27-28 mai, Espace Infopresse

 

Hackathon FTF : Le hackathon permettra aux participants de réaliser un projet de design technologique sur deux jours. Les participants auront accès à plusieurs mentors du domaine de la mode, ingénierie, et le design numérique, qui pourra les guider dans le processus de réalisation. De plus, divers outils numériques et plateformes seront offerts pour faciliter et encourager la mise en œuvre de prototypes tels que des dispositifs électroniques, des textiles intelligents, et des machines à coudre.

THEME: MOUVEMENT


OBJECTIFS

  • Offrir à des étudiants et professionnels de la mode et de la technologie une première expérience de wearables.
  • En deux jours, les participants vont devoir concevoir et prototyper un vêtement intelligent fait de “e-textiles.” Ils seront coachés par des experts du domaine tout au long du hackathon.

 

MATERIEL FOURNIS

  • Matériel de couture
  • Tissus
  • Électronique de base
  • Micro-controleurs
  • Textiles conducteurs

Horaire


Samedi 27 mai

9h Arrivée des participants
9h30-10h Introduction à la Fashiontech
10h-10h30 Présentation sur la mode + technologie par les mentors
10h30-11h30 Atelier E-Textiles

11h30-12h Mise en équipe + brainstorming
12h-13h Pause Lunch
13h-17h Lancement des équipes + design
17h Fermeture des portes

Dimanche 28 mai

9h Ouverture des portes
9h30-10h Retour sur la journée précédente
12h-13h Pause Lunch
14h-15h Présentations des équipes
15h Fin du hackathon

Mentors en mode


Danielle Martin


Enseignante, chercheur et designer de mode
Danielle Martin est une enseignante, chercheur et designer de mode montréalaise. En plus de remporter des prix nationaux et internationaux, elle est diplômée du MA en Fashion Design Womenswear du Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design. En 2010, elle lançait sa griffe, Martin Lim, avec son partenaire. Tout en enseignant le design et l’illustration à l’École supérieure de mode ESG UQAM, son travail porte sur l’exploration de les traces laissés sur le passage de l’être humain, sur le drapé de formes géométriques et sur la technologie utilisée en design de mode. L’impression 3D est une technologie qu’elle explore et questionne dans le cadre de son PhD à l’UQAM.

Marilyne Baril


MARIGOLD
Créée en 2013, la ligne Marigold par Marilyne Baril s’adresse à la jeune femme colorée et dynamique. Entièrement créée et confectionné à Montréal, la ligne est à ce jour distribuée dans plus de 40 points de vente au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle est aussi disponible sur les internets au marigoldmtl.com.

Sonia Paradis


Fondatrice, La Fabrique éthique
Sonia Paradis travaille de nombreuses années en tant que designer de mode au sein de différentes entreprises montréalaise avant de se perfectionner en arts textiles à l'Université Concordia. en 2011, elle fonde La Fabrique éthique, une école de couture qui offre des cours de couture de groupe ou privé, du mentorat ainsi que des ateliers créatifs qui permettent aux gens de découvrir le merveilleux monde de la couture, d'exprimer leur créativité et de se perfectionner. Son but ultime est de permettre aux gens de matérialiser leurs idées et de créer une mode unique, à leur image et à leur taille.

Carol Ribeiro


Créatrice de mode et vidéaste
Carol Ribeiro est créatrice de mode et vidéaste. Avec un baccalauréat en communication, elle a travaillé plusieurs années à la télévision. Les arts visuels et la musique ont toujours été ses premiers outils d'expression. En tant que musicienne elle a travaillé avec la vidéo musicale et dans le domaine de la publicité au Brésil, son pays d'origine. À Montréal, elle est diplômée de LaSalle International School of Fashion Arts and Design in Fashion Design et a commencé à explorer des processus de création de contenu expérimental et un design spéculatif / collaboratif. Récemment, sa passion pour l'audiovisuel l'a amenée à créer des expériences de réalité virtuelle. Elle travaille également comme coordinatrice de production et créatrice de contenu numérique pour Dress to Kill Magazine.

Tricia Crivellaro


Designer de mode
Tricia Crivellaro, diplômée de l’École supérieure de mode ESG UQAM, est une jeune designer de Montréal. Spécialisée en mode masculine, elle a travaillé pour des compagnies montréalaises tels que Tristan, Groupe Dynamite et Betina Lou/Marmier. Récemment, elle tend à explorer et se questionner sur la mode pour peaufiner son processus créatif et sa vision. Par des intervention sur les textiles et par la réutilisation de matières, Tricia aspire a une approche davantage instinctive et sensible lors de la création d'un vêtement. 

Mentors en tech


Ian Hattwick


Artiste, chercheur et développeur technologique
Ian Hattwick est un artiste, chercheur et développeur technologique dont le travail se concentre sur la création et l'utilisation de systèmes numériques pour des performances artistiques professionnelles. Avec une formation en composition et performance musicale, Ian s'intéresse particulièrement à l'utilisation de systèmes matériels multimodaux pour explorer et faciliter l'interaction sociale et intégrée. Son travail comprend la création d'instruments de musique portés par les danseurs, des systèmes d'affichage tactile portables permettant la création d'expériences de toucher social avec 20 à 100 participants et des instruments de musique numérique dont les représentations visuelles et tactiles intégrées dévoilent les processus numériques cachés et les interactions gestuelles subtiles. Son travail a été vu dans des festivals et des salles de concert dans le monde entier, y compris le Berliner Festspiele, le Centre d'art Chronus (Shanghai) et le Concertgebouw Bruges.


Mailis G. Rodrigues


Mailis G. Rodrigues travaille avec des médias interactifs appliqués aux arts. Elle a conçu un instrument de musique numérique - Intonaspacio, qui compose une musique spécifique au site avec les fréquences de résonance de la pièce. Mailis a également collaboré avec PixMob lors de son postdoc à l'Université McGill, en concevant un algorithme pour suivre le déplacement de 2D des utilisateurs dans une pièce. Elle a supervisé le design du gilet musical interactif - Track it, Zip it, un gilet conçu pour le batteur et l'improvisateur Jim Black. Récemment, elle a collaboré avec le duo Jane / Kin et la VJ Myriam Boucher dans une performance immersive et interactive présentée à SAT. Mailis fait actuellement son post-doctorat à l'Université Concordia travaillant dans un projet avec des UAV multi-agents qui composent des modèles visuels et musicaux.

Maria Julia Guimaraes


En se définissant comme créatrice et observatrice, Maria Julia Guimaraes cherche à explorer, à apprendre et à maîtriser les matériaux, les idées et les expériences. Toujours avec une valeur commune importante: tirer parti de la conception pour renforcer une meilleure communication et une expérience de l'interaction humaine. Son expertise couvre différents domaines: l'animation 2D / 3D, la conception graphique, les effets visuels, le “motion design,” la photographie numérique et la conception UX / UI. Elle est également programmeuse autodidacte, jouant dans plusieurs langages et technologies de programmation. Elle a trois baccalauréats: un en design graphique, un autre en architecture et en urbanisme, et le plus recent, un BFA en Computation Arts de l’Université Concordia.

Vsevolod Ivanov


Vsevolod (Seva) Ivanov a commencé à étudier l'informatique en 2011 lors de son CÉGEP. Cependant, il a décidé d'explorer une approche plus créative de la technologie d'aujourd'hui en étudiant dans le programme Computation Arts de l'Université Concordia. Cela l'a amené à découvrir diverses branches inconnues de la technologie telles que Internet of Things (IoT), les médias tangibles, les “wearables” et la bio-informatique. Seva a participé à divers hackathons et estime que c'est un excellent moyen de communiquer avec les personnes qui travaillent sur le terrain et d'apprendre à construire rapidement des prototypes en collaborant avec différents ensembles de compétences.

William McGuinness


William McGuinness est un designer multidisciplinaire de Montréal. Un diplômé récent du programme BFA de l'Université Concordia en Computation Art, William travaille en programmation et les logiciel 3D depuis 3 ans. Il aime apprendre les nouvelles technologies et créer des solutions innovantes pour le monde numérique, toujours en quête de perfection et du meilleur résultat possible. Ses intérêts consistent à connecter les mondes hors ligne et en ligne pour créer des expériences mémorables. Ces moments riches sont réalisés en mélangeant une grande variété de supports, y compris les applications mobiles, les jeux vidéo et même les portables. Plus récemment, il a utilisé une combinaison d'électronique, de capteurs et de e-textiles pour créer un ensemble de chaussures permettant aux joueurs de parcourir les jeux vidéo de réalité virtuelle.

Alika Utepova


Alika Utepova does a lot of coding, debugging and troubleshooting of various code and technical problems in her daily life. Lately, she has been working with e-textiles and hands-on building and assembling of interactive objects, using sewing, woodworking, electronics, breadboard prototyping, soldering and other unexpected techniques. She has a DEC in Fine Arts and is currently in her final year in Computer Science, option Computation Arts at Concordia University.

Hackathon


May 27-28, Espace Infopresse

 

FTF Hackathon: The hackathon will permit participants to build a fashiontech design over 2 days. The participants will have access to mentors from the field of fashion, engineering, and digital media, who will guide them in the process. As well, various digital tools and platforms, such as electronics, smart textiles, and sewing machines will be on-site to facilitate fabrication.


THEME: MOUVEMENT

OBJECTIVES

  • Offer students and professionals from fashion and tech a first experience of wearables.
  • In two days, the participants will conceive and prototype an e-textiles wearable. They will be coached by experts from the field throughout the hackathon.

MATERIAL PROVIDED

  • Sewing material
  • Fabric
  • Basic electronics
  • Micro-controllers
  • Conductive textiles

Schedule


Saturday May 27

9h Arrival of participants
9h30-10h Introduction to Fashiontech
10h-10h30 Presentation on fashion + technology by mentors
10h30-11h30 E-textile Workshop
11h30-12h Formation of teams + brainstorming
12h-13h Lunch Break
13h-17h Launch of teams
 + design
17h Doors close

Sunday May 28

9h Doors open
9h30-10h Recap of previous day
12h-13h Lunch Break
14h-15h Presentation by teams
15h End of hackathon

Fashion Mentors


Danielle Martin


Teacher, researcher and fashion designer
Danielle Martin is a teacher, researcher and fashion designer based in Montreal. In addition to winning prestigious national and international prizes, she holds an MA in Fashion Design Womenswear from Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design. In 2010, she launched her own brand, Martin Lim, with her partner. Teaching design and illustration at École supérieure de mode ESG UQAM, her work is based on the exploration of the traces left by human presence, the drape of geometrical shapes, and the use of technology in fashion design. 3D printing is a technology she explores and questions, while doing a PhD at UQAM.

Marilyne Baril


MARIGOLD
Created in 2013, Marigold by Marilyne Baril fashion brand is aimed at colourful and dynamic young woman. Fully created and manufactured in Montreal, the line is distributed to more than 40 points of sale across Canada and the United States. It is also available online at marigoldmtl.com.

Sonia Paradis


Founder of La Fabrique éthique
Sonia Paradis has worked for many years as a fashion designer for various Montreal companies before graduating in Fibre Arts at Concordia University. In 2011, she founded La Fabrique éthique, a sewing school that offers group or private tailoring classes, mentoring and creative workshops that allow people to discover the wonderful world of couture, express their creativity and improve their fabrication skills. Its ultimate goal is to allow people to materialize their ideas and create fashion that is unique to their image and size.

Carol Ribeiro


Fashion designer and a videographer
Carol Ribeiro is a fashion designer and a videographer. With a bachelor’s degree in Communication, she worked many years in television. Visual arts and music have always been her primarily tools of expression. Being a musician herself, she worked with music videos and advertising back in Brazil, her home country. In Montreal, she graduated from LaSalle International School of Fashion Arts and Design in Fashion Design and started exploring experimental content creation processes and speculative/collaborative design. Recently, her passion for audio visual has led her to creating Virtual Reality experiences. She also works as a production coordinator and digital content creator for Dress to Kill Magazine. 

Tricia Crivellaro


Fashion designer
Tricia Crivellaro, a graduate of the École supérieure de mode ESG UQAM, is a young designer from Montreal. Specializing in men's fashion, she has worked for Montreal-based companies such as Tristan, Groupe Dynamite and Betina Lou / Marmier. Recently, she has been exploring and questioning fashion to refine her creative process and vision. By working on textiles and reusable materials, Tricia aspires towards a more instinctive and sensitive approach to creating garments.



Tech Mentors


Ian Hattwick


Artist, researcher, and technology developer
Ian Hattwick is an artist, researcher, and technology developer whose work focuses on the creation and use of digital systems for professional artistic performances. With a background in music composition and performance, Ian is particularly interested in use of multimodal hardware systems to explore and facilitate social and embodied interaction. His work includes the creation of prosthetic musical instruments worn by dancers, wearable tactile display systems enabling the creation of social touch experiences with 20-100 participants, and digital musical instruments whose embedded visual and tactile displays reify hidden digital processes and subtle gestural interactions. His work has been seen in festivals and concert halls all over the world, including the Berliner Festspiele, Chronus Art Center (Shanghai), and the Concertgebouw Bruges.

Mailis G. Rodrigues


Mailis G. Rodrigues works with interactive media applied to arts. She designed a digital musical instrument - Intonaspacio, that composes site-specific music with the resonant frequencies of the room. Mailis also collaborated with PixMob during her postdoc at McGill University, designing an algorithm to track 2D displacement of users in a room. She supervised the design of the interactive musical vest - Track it, Zip it, a vest designed for drummer and improviser Jim Black. Recently, she collaborated with the duo Jane/Kin and the VJ Myriam Boucher in an immersive and interactive performance presented at SAT. Mailis is currently doing her postdoc at Concordia University working in a project with multi agents UAVs that compose visual and musical patterns. 

Maria Julia Guimaraes


Defining herself as a crafter and observer, Maria Julia Guimaraes looks to explore, learn and excel in materials, ideas and experiences. Always with an important common value: leveraging design to empower a better communication and experience in human interaction. Her expertise spans different domains: 2D/3D animation, graphic design, visual effects, motion designer, digital photography, and UX/UI design. She is also a curious self-taught programmer, playing around in several programming languages and technologies. She has three Bachelor’s degrees: one in Graphic Design, another in Architecture and Urbanism, and the most recent, a BFA Computation Arts from Concordia University.

Vsevolod Ivanov


Vsevolod (Seva) Ivanov started in studying computer science in 2011 during his CÉGEP. However, he decided to explore a more creative approach to today's technology by attending the Computation Arts program at Concordia University. It led him to discover various unknown branches of technology such as Internet of Things (IoT), tangible media, wearables and bio-computing. Seva has participated in various hackathons and believes that it is a great way to get in touch with people working in the field as well as learning how to quickly build prototypes by collaborating with a various skill-sets.

William McGuinness


William McGuinness is a multidisciplinary designer from Montreal. A recent graduate of Concordia University’s BFA program in Computation Art, William has been dabbling with code and 3D software for the past 3 years. He loves learning about new technologies and creating innovative solutions for the digital world, always striving for perfection and the best result possible. His interests lie in connecting the offline and online worlds to create memorable experiences. These rich moments are achieved by mixing a wide variety of media including mobile applications, video games and even wearables. More recently, he used a combination of electronics, sensors and e-textiles to create a set of shoes to allow players to walk through virtual reality video games.

Alika Utepova


Alika Utepova does a lot of coding, debugging and troubleshooting of various code and technical problems in her daily life. Lately, she has been doing work in e-textiles and hands-on building and assembling of interactive objects, using sewing, woodworking, electronics, breadboard prototyping, soldering and other unexpected techniques. She has a DEC in Fine Arts and is currently in her final year in Computer Science, option Computation Arts.